When a domain expires it becomes inactive immediately and all the services attached to it cease to function. You can’t make any updates to the domain while it is expired. The domain will remain available for reactivation at your regular domain rate under your list of Expired Domains.
Certain domain names are auto-renew only and cannot be renewed manually. For these domains there is no grace period. Once they’ve expired it’s not possible to recover them.
After a domain expires, it enters a grace period. In this period, the domain is disabled but it’s still possible to renew it from the DNSimple account at no extra cost.
Currently, PDR – our registrar – offers a non-guaranteed 29-day grace period for renewal for most TLDs. There is no guaranteed grace period. Once a domain expires, PDR may dispose of it at any time according to the registration agreement. After the grace period elapses, the domain may go into a redemption grace period.
Renewal years are always added to the end of the current registration period (i.e., the new expiration date is the same whether you renew two months early or the day before expiration), so you will never lose time on your domain by renewing early.
After a domain has passed through any applicable expiration grace period, the domain may go into redemption status.
A redemption grace period is provided after the registrar has issued a delete request to the registry. Only the previous registrant can recover the domain during this time, and it must be retrieved through the previous registrar. The Redemption grace period is named differently for some TLDs. The .org equivalent, for example, is “Pending Delete – Restorable.”
Domains in our system can go into either Redemption Grace Period or Extended Redemption Grace Period.
To renew a domain in redemption status, please contact us.
When a domain is in the redemption status, the registrar will apply a mandatory fee on top of the standard renewal price. The final renewal price will be the standard renewal fee plus the redemption fee.
“Pending Delete” refers to the 5-day time frame after redemption. During this time the registry holds the domain and it cannot be recovered. Once the Registry deletes the domain it’s available on a first-come first-served basis for anyone to purchase as a new domain.